













## Department of Higher Education selects 16 teachers from HEIs and Polytechnics for National Awards to Teachers (NAT) 2024

Posted On: 28 AUG 2024 6:46PM by PIB Delhi

Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education selects 16 teachers in HEIs and Polytechnic for National Awards to Teachers (NAT) 2024.

NEP 2020 recognizes that motivated, energized and capable faculty is critical for advancement of the students, institution and profession. It also envisages incentives such as rewards and recognitions to cultivate a culture of excellence in education ecosystem. As such, in the year 2023, it was decided to institute two categories of awards for HEIs and Polytechnics under the umbrella of NAT, hitherto restricted to School teachers only.

NAT is conferred on the exemplary teachers/faculty members of higher education institutions and Polytechnics as per the following categories:

Category I: Teachers of Higher Educational Institutions:

Sub-category (i): Engineering & Technology, Architecture.

Pure Sciences including Mathematics, Physical Sub-category (ii): Sciences, Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy

Sub-category (iii): Arts and Social Sciences, Humanities, Languages, Legal Studies, Commerce, Management.

Category II: Teachers of Polytechnic Institutions: Total 10 Awards

The 16 select teachers are from Polytechnics, State Universities and Central Higher Education Institutions.

The selection is based on the performance of the teacher as adjudged against the parameters such as Teaching Learning Effectiveness, Outreach activities, Research and Innovation, Sponsored Research/ Faculty Development Programs/ Consultancy Teaching. Of the above, Learning Effectiveness & Outreach activities has the preponderant weightage.

The selection procedure for NAT-2024 involves two-steps process; (i) Evaluation by Preliminary arch-cum Screening Committee for initial shortlisting of nominees and (ii) Committee of 'Jury' for lection of awardees from the shortlisted nominees.

pminations for NAT, 2024 were invited in online mode through **Rashtriya Puraskar Portal** www.awards.gov.in and included provisions for self, institutional and peer nomination as part of Jan Bhagidari.

## ETAILS OF NAT 2024 AWARDEES - DoHE

| Or. Gandhimathi A   | Tamil Nadu   |
|---|--|
| Chicagoliu Dahatahui G II I I   |  |
| Thiagarajar Polytechnic College, Junction Main Road, Salem- 636005, Tamil Nadu  |  |
| Prof. Parmar Ranjitkumar Khimjibhai   | Gujarat  |
| Government Polytechnic Khadiya, Bilkha<br>Road, Junagadh, Gujarat-362263  |  |
| Prof. Nidhi Jain  | Delhi  |
| Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, Hauz Khas, New Delhi-110016   |  |
| Or. Smiline Girija  | Tamil Nadu   |
| Saveetha Dental College and Hospitals,<br>Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical<br>Sciences [SIMATS], Saveetha University |  |
| No 162: PH Road, Velappanchavady,<br>Chennai 600077   |  |
|   | Government Polytechnic Khadiya, Bilkha Road, Junagadh, Gujarat-362263  Prof. Nidhi Jain  Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, Hauz Khas, New Delhi-110016  Pr. Smiline Girija  Gaveetha Dental College and Hospitals, Gaveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences [SIMATS], Saveetha University  No 162: PH Road, Velappanchavady, |

| Prof. Birinchi Kumar Sarma  Department of Mycology and Plant Pathology, Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 221005                                       | Uttar Pradesh  |
|---|--|
| Prof. Srinivas Hotha  Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Pune,  Dr Homi Bhabha Road, Pune 411 008   | Maharashtra  |
| Dr. S R Keshava  Department of Economics,  Bangalore University, Jnana Bharathi Campus, Kengeri, Bangalore – 560056   | Karnataka  |
| Prof. Shilpagauri Prasad Ganpule  Pune District Education Association's Prof. Ramkrishna More Arts, Commerce and Science College, Ganganagar, Sector No. 28, Nigdi Pradhikaran, Pune 411044 | Maharashtra  |
| Dr. Chayapuram Jaya Sankar Babu  Pondicherry University, R. Venkat Raman Nagar, Kalapet, Puducherry - 605 014   | Puducherry   |
|   | Department of Mycology and Plant Pathology, Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 221005  Prof. Srinivas Hotha  Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Pune, Dr Homi Bhabha Road, Pune 411 008  Dr. S R Keshava  Department of Economics, Bangalore University, Jnana Bharathi Campus, Kengeri, Bangalore – 560056  Prof. Shilpagauri Prasad Ganpule  Pune District Education Association's Prof. Ramkrishna More Arts, Commerce and Science College, Ganganagar, Sector No. 28, Nigdi Pradhikaran, Pune 411044  Dr. Chayapuram Jaya Sankar Babu  Pondicherry University, R. Venkat Raman |

| 9/24, 10:02 AM | Press Releasel:Press information Bureau   |                |
|----------------|---|----------------|
| 10. <b>f</b>   | Prof. Nilabh Tiwari Central Sanskrit University Bhopal Campus Bagsewaniya, Bhopal , MP Pin 462043             | Madhya Pradesh |
| in             | Prof. Vinay Sharma  Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee-247667 Haridwar, Uttarakhand              | Uttarakhand    |
| 12.            | Dr. Nandavaram Mrudula  Govt. Degree College for Women, Mayur Marg, Begumpet, Hyderabad, Telangana 500016     | Telangana      |
| 13.            | Dr. Shimi S L  Punjab Engineering College (Deemed to be University), Vidya Path, Sector 12, Chandigarh 160012 | Chandigarh     |
| 14.            | Prof. Kapil Ahuja  Indian Institute of Technology Indore, Khandwa Road, Simrol, Indore, MP 453552             | Madhya Pradesh |

| 15.   | Dr. Anitha Suseelan  | Karnataka     |
|-------|--|---------------|
|       | School of Architecture, Kengeri Campus,<br>CHRIST Deemed to be University,<br>Kengeri-Campus, Kanminike,<br>Kumbalgodu, Mysore Road, Bangalore<br>560074 |               |
| in 6. | Prof. Dr. Shahanaz Ayub  | Uttar Pradesh |
|       | Bundelkhand Institute of Engineering and<br>Technology, Kanpur Road, Jhansi-284128,<br>UP  |               |

\*\*\*\*

## SS/AK

(Release ID: 2049495) Visitor Counter: 967

Read this release in: Urdu , Hindi , Manipuri